[wp_social_sharing social_options='facebook,twitter,googleplus,linkedin,pinterest,xing' twitter_username='Punjab2000music' facebook_text='Share on Facebook' twitter_text='Share on Twitter' googleplus_text='Share on Google+' linkedin_text='Share on Linkedin' pinterest_text="Share on Pinterest" xing_text="Share on Xing" icon_order='f,t,g,l,p,x' show_icons='0' before_button_text='' text_position='' social_image='']

The Asian Awards – Winners List

fPresent ed by Lord Sebastian Coe, The Asian Awards 2010 saw a powerhouse of leaders in business, sports, politics attend to celebrate achievement and excellence among South Asians, including Deputy PM Nick Clegg, Didier Drogba, Jermaine JacksonNasser Hussain OBE, William Gallas, Gurinder Chadha, Christian Louboutin and Sonu Niigaam.


Caroline Jackson Levy, Managing Director of the Asian Awards said: “We are delighted at the incredible success of the inaugural Asian Awards. Through the Asian Awards we begin to build a legacy for the South Asian community and through the achievements of our winners, to inspire the millions of us who strive to be the best we can.


“We are honoured to have been joined by so many world figures – with the support of the Deputy Prime Minister Nick Clegg, Nasser Hussain OBE, Christian Louboutin, Sonu Niigaam and other major personalities, the Asian Awards were a spectacular success.”




  1. Outstanding Achievement in Arts and Design   – Abu Jani & Mr. Sandeep Khosla
    *Presented by Christian Louboutin
  2. Outstanding Achievement in Television – George Alagiah OBE 
    *Presented by Neeraj Arora, Executive VP, Sony Entertainment Network & Nina Wadia
  3. Outstanding Achievement in Cinema – Yash Chopra 
    *Presented by Gurinder Chadha
  4. Outstanding Achievement in Music – AR Rahman
     *Presented by Sonu Niigaam
  5. Lloyds Banking Group Business Leader of the Year – Ratan Tata(Collected by Anwar Hasan) 
    *Presented by Diana Brightmore- Armour, CEO Corporate Banking, Lloyds Banking Group
  6. Outstanding Achievement in Sport – Sachin Tendulkar
    *Presented by Paul Johnson, Deputy Editor Guardian News and Media & Nasser Hussain OBE


  7. Public Servant of the Year – Zarin Patel 
    *Presented by Baroness Verma of Leicester
  8. Lifetime Achievement   – Amitabh Bachchan
  9. Lloyds Banking Group Philanthropist of the Year – Sunil Mittal   (Collected by Eiesha Bharti Pasricha) 
    *Presented by Truett Tate, Group Executive Director, Wholesale, Lloyds Banking Group
  10.  Social Entrepreneur of the Year – Professor Muhammad Yunus (Collected by Shiban Mahbub) 
    *Presented by Ninan Chacko, CEO, PR Newswire 
  11. Entrepreneur of the Year –  Vijay Mallya
    *Presented by Kamal Ahmed, Business Editor of the Sunday Telegraph & Gary Jones, CEO of Infiniti
  12. Lebara People’s Choice Award – Sachin Tendulkar 
    *Presented by Ratheesan Yoganathan, CEO Lebara

Sonu Niigaam, one of India’s most celebrated and respected singers and songwriters also gave an exclusive performance. 


The Asian Awards were in support of the charity Save the Children. Co- founder of the Asian Awards, Paul Sagoo said “The whole South Asian community came together not only to celebrate the achievements of so many great figures, but also to recognize and support the vital work of Save the Children in India and Pakistan. Gurinder Chadha presented a deeply moving report on the work of the charity and we are delighted to have been able play our part in supporting their efforts.” 

With such prestigious figures lending their full support, make The Asian Awards 2010 one of the most important awards ceremonies to launch this year.