[wp_social_sharing social_options='facebook,twitter,googleplus,linkedin,pinterest,xing' twitter_username='Punjab2000music' facebook_text='Share on Facebook' twitter_text='Share on Twitter' googleplus_text='Share on Google+' linkedin_text='Share on Linkedin' pinterest_text="Share on Pinterest" xing_text="Share on Xing" icon_order='f,t,g,l,p,x' show_icons='0' before_button_text='' text_position='' social_image='']
Jay Sean

MY OWN WAY – Jay Sean

Jay Sean follows his hit comeback single ‘Ride It’ with yet another Top 15 single, ‘Maybe’ and a new album ‘My Own Way’ releasing May 12th on the 2Point9/Jayded label.
Recently, the award winning Jay Sean has been performing at prestigious venues and gigs across the world; Love Music Hate Racism, The Zee Cine Awards, BBC 1Xtra Live amongst others alongside Akon, Lupe Fiasco, Chris Brown & Kelly Rowlan.
His ‘signing’ sessions at Zavvi record shops across the country resulted in stores having to be shut down due to the huge numbers of fans ransacking the shelves.
Jay Sean

The talented star has also played to packed out college theatres across the U.S, Asia, Germany and Australia arguably becoming the UK’s freshest contemporary R&B export.  

From his beginnings on the streets in West London to international tours and chart success, Jay Sean is fast becoming the leading light in 2008, for R&B singer songwriters in the UK.


Consistently writing during the tours, the simple intellect of his lyrics together with a world class production team has enabled Jay to deliver an LP rammed with potential singles, creating one of the strongest ever soulful pop albums to come from a UK R&B artist – ‘My Own Way’



The album was recorded in New York and London, using the production talents of J-Remy (Fabolous, DJ Clue) and Duro (Mariah Carey, Jay Z, Mary J Blige, Rhianna) and features eleven tracks rooted in “traditional R&B flavour,” says Jay, “but heavily focusing on the songs.”  Jay continues: “Lyrically, there’s social commentary on tracks such as ‘Good Enough For You,’ which debates the problems of mixed-race relationships.
But I didn’t want to make an issue-heavy record. Much of it is based on what I get up to when I’m out and about. It refers to the games people play across the dancefloor – how you can catch someone’s eye and accept a challenge that lasts the rest of the evening”.

Jay Sean


Jay’s first single from the album, ‘Ride It’, entered the charts at #11 in January, following a successful street campaign (highlighted by over 5 million plays on YouTube) and culminating in strong national radio and TV support. ‘Ride It’ then lodged itself in the Top 20 for a month selling more than 70,000 units & counting.  Twice the amount of cumulative sales his debut singles Eyes & You & Stolen achieved. “It was such a buzz when I got the chart position,” Jay says, “as I realised people were feeling the music I’m making again.”


The second single ‘Maybe’ is currently sitting at NO.3 in the Physical single charts this week a few copies behind the Madonna & Justin Timberlake duet, & Usher’s first single in 2 years.  This an incredible achievement in the UK making him the first British Asian artist to have had five Top 15 hits with another massive single ready to drop real soon after his album ‘My Own Way. 
1.         Ride It
2.         Maybe
3.         I Won’t Tell
4.         Stay
5.         Good Enough
6.         Stuck In The Middle
7.         Run Away
8.         Waiting
9.         Used To Love Her
10.        Murder
11.        1,2,3 


Jay Sean – Potted History: Jay’s debut single ‘Dance With You,’ released in ’03, peaked at number 12 in the UK charts. His debut album ‘Me Against Myself’ went on to chart within the UK top 30, with further singles (‘Eyes On You’ and ‘Stolen’) hitting numbers 6 and 4. Hounslow-born Jay has sold 300,000 albums worldwide in mainstream outlets and across S.E Asia his debut went 5 times platinum. 
Check out


See More on Jay Sean Here Inc Video's, songs & pictures