[wp_social_sharing social_options='facebook,twitter,googleplus,linkedin,pinterest,xing' twitter_username='Punjab2000music' facebook_text='Share on Facebook' twitter_text='Share on Twitter' googleplus_text='Share on Google+' linkedin_text='Share on Linkedin' pinterest_text="Share on Pinterest" xing_text="Share on Xing" icon_order='f,t,g,l,p,x' show_icons='0' before_button_text='' text_position='' social_image='']
IIFAs: Nominations announced for Micromax IIFA Awards 2010, Sri Lanka - Paa, Love Aaj Kal & 3 Idiot

IIFAs: Nominations announced for Micromax IIFA Awards 2010, Sri Lanka – Paa, Love Aaj Kal & 3 Idiot

Mumbai, May 7, 2010: After a successful year for Indian cinema, with stellar performances at the box office, the International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) has announced the nominations for the IIFA Awards 2010. The 11th celebrations of the Videocon IIFA Weekend and Micromax IIFA Awards will be held in the Sri Lankan capital of Colombo from June 3rd – 5th, 2010.


The Popular categories of the Micromax IIFA Awards 2010 include Best Film, Best Direction, Performance in a Leading Role – Male & Female, Performance in a  Supporting Role – Male & Female,  Performance in a  Comic Role, Performance in a Negative Role, Music Direction, Best Story, Best Lyrics and Best Playback Singer.


The nominations were released as a result of the industry voting for the Micromax IIFA Awards in March. Results of the industry voting were audited by PriceWaterhouse Coopers, the auditing firm for the IIFAs and the Oscars. The online voting for the Awards will go live on on the 10th of May, 2010 and will be open to audiences of Indian Cinema, across the world. The voting will end on the 1st of June, 2010. The results of the online voting would determine the winners of the popular category, which would be announced on stage at the Micromax IIFA Awards presentation ceremony in Colombo at the multi-purpose, Sughathadasa Stadium.


Reflecting the successes of the Indian Film Industry from the year gone by, 3 Idiots, Wanted, Kaminey, Paa and Dev D are vying for the title of Best Picture, while the Best Direction category nominations comprise, Rajkumar Hirani (3 Idiots), Anurag Kashyap (Dev D), Ayan Mukherji (Wake Up Sid), Vishal Bharadwaj (Kaminey), Imtiaz Ali (Love Aaj Kal) and R. Balki (Paa).


The actors nominated this year for Performance in a Leading Role – Male are Aamir Khan for 3 Idiots, Amitabh Bachchan for Paa, Saif Ali Khan for Love Aaj Kal, Salman Khan for Wanted, Shahid Kapoor for Kaminey and Ranbir Kapoor for Wake Up Sid. The winner for  Performance in a Leading Role – Female will be chosen between Kareena Kapoor (3 Idiots), Priyanka Chopra (Kaminey), Deepika Padukone (Love Aaj Kal), Vidya Balan (Paa) and Mahie Gill (Dev D).


Commenting on the nominations for IIFA 2010, Sabbas Joseph, Director, Wizcraft said, “Colombo, Sri Lanka marks the second decade of IIFA, with the best of Indian cinema being showcased. The nominees for the Micromax IIFA Awards 2010 are a compilation of the best work from the previous year and the suspense and celebration of these worthy nominations will undoubtedly create another magical IIFA.


The events of the VIDEOCON IIFA Weekend are expected to boost tourism in the host region of Colombo, Sri Lanka and attract extra visitors from all over the world. More than 500 luminaries from the Indian film industry will travel to the region for this spectacular event. The event will be broadcast globally by STAR TV to reach nearly 500 million viewers in 110 countries.


Nominations for IIFA 2010


Best Film

Vidu Vinod Chopra- 3 idiots

Boney Kapoor- Wanted

Anurag Kashyap & Ronnie Screwvala – Dev D

Vishal Bharadwaj & Ronnie Screwvala- Kaminey

Sunil Manchanda & AB Corp-PAA


Best Direction

Rajkumar Hirani- 3 IDIOTS

Anurag Kashyap- Dev D

Ayan Mukerji- Wake Up Sid

Vishal Bharadwaj-Kaminey

Imtiaz Ali- Love Aaj Kal



Performance in a Leading Role –Male

Aamir Khan- 3 Idiots

Amitabh Bachchan- Paa

Saif Ali Khan- Love Aaj Kal

Salman Khan- Wanted

Shahid Kapoor- Kaminey

Ranbir Kapoor-Wake Up Sid


Performance in a Leading Role – Female

Kareena Kapoor- 3 Idiots

Priyanka Chopra- Kaminey

Deepika Padukone-Love Aaj Kal

Vidya Balan-Paa

Mahie Gill- Dev D


Performance in Supporting Role- Male

Sharman Joshi- 3 IDIOTS

Irrfan- New York

R. Madhavan- 3 Idiots

Abhimanyu Singh- Gulal

Abhishek Bachchan- Paa

Rishi Kapoor- Love Aaj Kal


Performance in Supporting Role- Female

Kalki Koechlin- Dev D

Arundhati Naag- Paa

Divya Dutta- Delhi 6

Supriya Pathak- Wake Up Sid

Kirron Kher- Kurrban


Performance in a Comic Role

Omi Vaidya- 3 Idiots

Ajay Devgn- All The Best

Johny Lever- De Dana Dan

Govinda- Life Partner

Sanjay Dutt- All The Best


Performance in a Negative Role

Boman Irani- 3 Idiots

Amol Gupte- Kaminey

Prakash Raj- Wanted

Kay Kay Menon- Gulal

Arya Babbar- Jail


Music Direction

Shantanu Moitra- 3 Idiots

A.R.Rehman- Delhi 6

Pritam- Love Aaj Kal

Amit Trivedi- Dev D

Vishal Bharadwaj- Kaminey


Best Story

Abhijat Joshi,Raj Kumar Hirani & Vidu Vinod Chopra- 3 Idiots

Ayan Mukherji- Wake Up Sid

Anurag Kashyap & Vikramaditya Motwane- Dev D

Imtiaz Ali- Love Aaj Kal

R.Balki- Paa


Best Lyrics

Swanand Kirkire- 3 Idiots

Prasoon Joshi- Delhi 6

Irshad Kamil- Love Aaj Kal

Gulzar- Kaminey

Amitabh Bhattacharya- Dev D


Playback Singer-Male

Shaan- Behti Hawa Sa Tha Who (3 Idiots)

Mohit Chauhan- Masakali  (Delhi 6)

Sonu Nigam- All Izz Well  (3 Idiots)

Atif Aslam- Tu Jaane Na ( Ajab Prem Ki Gajab Kahani)

Rahat Fateh Ali Khan-Aaj Din Chadiya  (Love Aaj Kal)

Sukhvinder Singh & Vishal Dadlani- Dan Te Nan (Kaminey)


Playback Singer- Female

Shreya Ghoshal- Zoobi Doobi ( 3 Idiots)

Kavita Seth- Ek Tara (Wake Up Sid)

Rekha Bharadwaj- Sasural Genda Phool ( Delhi 6)

Sunidhi Chauhan – Chor Baazari (Love Aaj Kal)

Shilpa Rao- Moodi Moodi ( PAA)

Tulsi Kumar-Hafiz Khuda (8X10 Tasveer)