[wp_social_sharing social_options='facebook,twitter,googleplus,linkedin,pinterest,xing' twitter_username='Punjab2000music' facebook_text='Share on Facebook' twitter_text='Share on Twitter' googleplus_text='Share on Google+' linkedin_text='Share on Linkedin' pinterest_text="Share on Pinterest" xing_text="Share on Xing" icon_order='f,t,g,l,p,x' show_icons='0' before_button_text='' text_position='' social_image='']
Pictures from the 2010 Brit Asia Tv Awards

BritAsia Music Awards 2010 Sponsored by Limo Broker

Media / Nominations Party


Stars of the British Asian Music Scene were in attendance last night at the Brit Asia Music Awards “Media Nominations Party”.  Set in the prestigious Ricoh Arena in Coventry guests were treated with Champagne and Canapés courtesy of Mahirs Catering.  The V.I.P guests all waited in bated breath to hear Sukhi Barth, Brit Asia TV presenter to announce the nominees for the 15 categories.

Rolling on his State-side success there was one clear undisputed winner, Jay Sean was nominated for a staggering six nominations. Following closely behind with brummie local Jaz Dhami up for an impressive four! The support from the Media was fantastic with local, regional and national media outlets rallying behind British Asian Artists.

The BATV Music Awards will take place on Sunday, May 2 during the Bank Holiday weekend and is set to feature some of the biggest names in Bhangra and British Asian Music, as well as featuring popular UK urban influences.


Sheila Nakra, Director of Brit Asia TV, free on Sky Channel 833 reported from the glamorous affair as ‘a fantastic start to the spectacular awards ceremony taking place on the 2nd May, 2010 Bank Holiday weekend. Support from the Asian media has been incredible; we’ve teamed up with five local and regional radio stations across the UK, Desi Radio Nu Soundz Radio and Asian Star Radio in London, Awaz Radio in Scotland, Raaj FM in the Midlands and BBC Asian Network.

In addition to Asian media, BPM Media have been on hand to support us in bringing this celebration of British Asian Music to the people of the UK. As the only British Asian Music and entertainment channel, it is important that we recognize the hard work from all of the Artists across the British Asia Music Scene fairly.

We achieved this perfectly by the open public web vote where the winners were chosen by the public. Web votes were collected, verified and counted by an independent adjudicator via, speaking to the Artists here tonight it was this feature of our award ceremony that made the difference’.

Nominees with the highest number of phone votes will be counted and verified by an independent adjudicator and announced as ‘Category Award Winners’ at Symphony Hall on 2nd May, 2010.  

The official breakdown of the nominees for the Brit Asia TV Music Awards, 2010 is as follows:




Asian Act

Kazz Kumar (KUMAR)

Imran Khan – Unforgettable (IMRAN)

Shizzio (SHIZZIO)

Jaz Dhami (DHAMI)

Jaz Dhami JD (JD)

Jay Sean (JAY)


Jay Sean – All or Nothing (JAY)

Sef (SEF)

Mumzy (MUMZY)

Surjit Khan Headliner (SURJIT)

Mumzy  (MUMZY)

Jaswinder Daghamia (DAGHAMIA)

Sukshinda Shinda – Collaborations2 (SHINDA)

Ag dolla (DOLLA)

Roach Killa (KILLA)

PBN Homegrown (PBN)

Roach Killa (KILLA)






Urban Act

Rahat Fateh Khan (RAHAT)

Imran khan –Amplifier (IMRAN)

Jay Sean (JAY)

Miss Pooja  (POOJA)

Jaz Dhami – Theke Wali (DHAMI)

Chipmunk  (CHIPMUNK)

Manohan Waris (WARIS)

JK – Pat Liya (JK)

Tinchy Stryder (TINCHY)

Gurdass Mann (GURDAS)

Sukshinder Shinda – Gum Suhm (SHINDA)

Dizzee Rascal (RASCAL)

Babbu Mann (BABBU)

Dark MC – Chori Chori (DARK)

Sway (SWAY)

Hadiqa Kiani (HADIQA)

Jay Sean Down (JAY)

Bashy (BASHY)







Rishi Rich (RICH)

Talvin Singh (TALVIN)

Imran Khan (IMRAN)

Aman Hayer (HAYER)

Sukh Knight (KNIGHT)

Jaz Dhami (DHAMI)

Eren E (EREN)

Niraj Chag (NIRAJ)

Jay Sean (JAY)

Sukshinder Shinda (SHINDA)

Shiva Soundsystem (SHIVA)

Sukshinder Shinda (SHINDA)

Tru Skool (TRU)

Asian Dub Foundation (DUB)

Malkit Singh (MALKIT)


Fusing Naked Beats (FUSING)

Angrej Ali (ANGREJ ALI)







Dark MC – Chori Chori (DARK)

Dj H (DJH)

Miss Pooja (POOJA)

Jay Sean Down (JAY)

DJ Vix (VIX)

Hadiqa Kiani (HADIQA)

Taje – B.I.G (TAJE)

Jags Klimax (KLIMAX)

Hard Kaur (HARD)

Shinda – Gum Suhm (SHINDA)

Panjabi MC (PMC)

Kaz Kumar (KUMAR)

Des-C – Jiska Hasna (JISKA)

DJ Gurps (GURPS)

Karen David (KAREN)

Amplifier – Imran Khan (IMRAN)

DJ Kayper (KAYPER)

Amar (AMAR)







Sukshinder Shinda & Band (SHINDA)



Alaap (ALAAP)



En Karma (KARMA)



Jazzy B and Band (JAZZY)



Malkit Singh & Band (MALKIT)




Fans of British Asian Music can vote now via the Text lines which are now open!


Fans can vote by texting TEXT 64343 + NAME OF CATEGORY + ARTIST


Fans of British Asian Music can text to vote for their favorite Artist.


Guide to Voting:


Step 1: Text ‘64343’


Step 2: Enter Category, i.e. ‘Newcomer’


Step 3: Enter Artists’ name, i.e. for Kazz Kumar (KUMAR)


Fans can vote as many times as they like!


Winners will be announced on the 2nd May, 2010 at the Symphony Hall in Birmingham – to celebrate the best of British Asian Talent


Texts cost £1 per text and voters are charged at the network rate.


For more info on voting log on to & for Terms and Conditions on voting please ring 0207 940 7474 or visit

Text is charged at £1, plus the cost the standard network text – if voters are under 16 please ask for the Bill Payers permission before voting.
*Voters are advised that your service provider may limit your texting capacity and may still charge you.

Tickets for the event will be on sale via the Symphony Hall Box office on 0121 780 3333 and via, priced from £27.50, £49.40 & £75.
For additional enquiries please call 0870 818 0000.